I suggest you ...

Provide Visual Studio updates as an ISO image for offline installation

The offline installation method (run vs2012.2.exe /layout) is sub-optimal and has too many moving pieces. Please provide future (and current if possible) visual studio updates as an ISO.

I work as a consultant on a variety of customer sites, often on virtual machines with no / little internet connectivity. I also work on a laptop which is often disconnected, and sometimes it is connected via a mobile device which would cost hundreds of dollars to download updates.

In most of these situations, the simplest thing that works (and has worked for a long period of time) is to store and copy an ISO file with the appropriate installer.
Providing an ISO for software from MSDN means that I know that I have an accurate unmodified copy of the installer (I can check the checksum matches). This prevents media copy issues, virus infection, etc.

An ISO allows me to efficiently store the installer for use by VMs, or mounting on physical machines as needed without taking up any extra unneccesary space. It means that when I want to share this installer between several developers on physical machines each person only needs to copy a single file. This is an atomic action rather in comparison to a copy folder full of files. It is either done or not done.