Retention policies in TFS 2015 build should delete UNC drops
Retention policies in TFS 2015 build (in new build system) should delete UNC drops.
This feature is available on VSTS and with TFS 15. See https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/docs/build/news/2016#april-18 for more details.
Jon Yutzy commented
Is there any update on this? I have TFS 2015 Update 2.1 and even when I MANUALLY delete a completed BUILD it still does not clean up the files on my UNC Drop Location. I have a "Copy and Publish Build Artifacts" task with a path of \\servername\Deployment_Requests\BW.Application\$(Build.DefinitionName)_$(Build.BuildNumber). I even tried fully qualifying servername.domain and it still didn't delete the files that were published to Drop Location. This is really annoying because we have to manually clean up drop location files even after the BUILD is deleted. When manually deleting the build it prompts saying, "Are you sure you want to delete everything about build XYZ including details, FILES AND FOLDER UNDER DROP FOLDER, test results, symbols and label". This implies that it will delete DROP FOLDER files but it does not. I don't see any info in logs either. This needs fixed in both Retention Policy and Manual Deletion of Builds.
Gaurav Lakhani commented
Right. This is a basic feature. Please release some patch to fix it.
This is a basic hygene functionality, please bring it back or at least release a minor patch to make it work again.
Martin Schroll commented
Please bring back these functionality which was included in previous versions.
It is really annoying to delete obsolete drop folders per hand.
This is big block for us, impossible to consolidate the UNC build drop folder with thousands of builds
Scott Chamberlain commented
The loss of this feature is blocking our team from migrating from XAML based builds.
Dave Lloyd commented
Of course they should, you can't take features away.
Why was this removed or overlooked? This is something that is really needed.
This worked in TFS2013!
Jochen Kalmbach commented
This also is needed for manually delete builds.. the UNC drop-folder ist not deleted... this makes the new build System mostly unseless...